California will raise minimum wage to $10/hr by 2016

California Legislature Passes Historic Minimum Wage Increase
www.calaborfed.org

California made history this week when the Legislature–with the support of California’s unions–voted to raise the state’s minimum wage to $10, the highest minimum wage in the nation. Read more » 

 

Additional information about California’s minimum wage increase and how it will help IHSS providers:

What is California’s minimum wage?

The minimum wage in California is currently $8 per hour. However, in an important milestone for working families, Governor Jerry Brown signed a minimum wage increase ($10 per hour) into law on September 25, 2013.

When will the minimum wage increase go into effect?

The state minimum wage will increase in two stages. The first increase, to $9 per hour, will occur on July 1, 2014; the minimum wage will further increase to $10 per hour January 1, 2016.

How will the new minimum wage impact UDW homecare providers?

All UDW members are currently paid at least $9 an hour, but many are not paid over $10 an hour. This change will benefit thousands of hardworking UDW members who are paid less than $10 per hour as of January 1, 2016. Next July, it will also help our fellow IHSS providers in non-UDW counties who are currently making less than $9 an hour.

 

Share

Paid for by United Domestic Workers of America Action Fund, sponsored by United Domestic Workers of America. Not authorized by a candidate or a committee controlled by a candidate.

   GET NEWS & UPDATES FROM UDW      
FOLLOW UDW