Election 2020

Your voice matters!

Home care workers can effect real change by making sure we elect leaders who will fight for us and our clients. In 2020, we get to do just that. Our vote is our voice and our power, so we carefully vet candidates in both local and statewide races. Recommendations are made to each local UDW board and our executive board, so that UDW members have a direct say in which candidates will best represent the needs of home care workers, our clients, and our communities.

Are you registered to vote? Register online by October 19, 2020 so that you can vote in the general election on November 3rd!

Click here for information on your voting rights. If you have problems at the polls, call 1-877-321-VOTE (8683) to report them.

UDW Endorsements

UDW only endorses candidates that complete our endorsement process, which is open to all candidates regardless of political party.

The following candidates have been endorsed by the UDW Executive Board or the UDW District Executive Boards:

To see how state legislators did this year in support of IHSS providers and supporting UDW, have a look at our 2019 Legislative Scorecard.

UDW – District 1 – San Diego County
Race UDW Candidate
State Assembly, 71st District Elizabeth Lavertu
State Assembly, 75th District Kate Schwartz
State Assembly, 76th District Tasha Boerner Horvath
State Assembly, 77th District Brian Maienschein
State Assembly, 78th District Christopher Ward
State Assembly, 79th District Shirley Weber
State Assembly, 80th District Lorena Gonzalez
State Senate, 39th District Toni Atkins
BOS, 2nd District Mayor Steve Vaus
BOS, 3rd District Terra Lawson-Remer
Oceanside City Council Michelle Gomez
Oceanside Mayor Rob Howard
San Diego Mayor Todd Gloria
National City City Council Jose Rodriguez
Oceanside City Council Amber Newman
San Diego City Council, District 1 Will Moore
San Diego City Council, District 5 Marni Von Wilpert
San Diego City Council, District 7 Raul Campillo
UDW – District 2 – Orange County
Race UDW Candidate
State Assembly, 55th District Andrew Rodriguez
State Assembly, 65th District Sharon Quirk-Silva
State Assembly, 68th District Melissa Fox
State Assembly, 69th District Tom Daly
State Assembly, 74th District Cottie Petrie-Norris
State Assembly, 72nd District Diedre Nguyen
State Senate, 29th District Josh Newman
State Senate, 37th District Dave Min
BOS, 1st District Sergio Contreras
UDW – District 3 – Riverside County
Race UDW Candidate
State Assembly, 42nd District Chad Mayes
State Assembly, 56th District Eduardo Garcia
State Assembly, 60th District Sabrina Cervantes
State Assembly, 61st District Jose Medina
State Senate, 23rd District Abigal Medina
State Senate, 31st District Richard Roth
Riverside Unified Board or Education Trustee Area 3 Angelov Farooq
UDW – District 4 – Alpine, Madera, Mariposa, Merced, Mono, Stanislaus, and Tuolumne Counties
Race UDW Candidate
State Assembly, 21st District Adam Gray
State Senate, 5th District Susan Eggman
Merced, BOS, 2nd District Josh Pedrozo
Tuolumne, BOS, 5th District Jaron Brandon
Tuolumne, BOS, 1st District David Goldenberg
Stanislaus, BOS, 1st District Buck Condit
Stanislaus, BOS, 5th District Tom Hanilan
UDW – District 5 – Kern, San Luis Obispo, and Santa Barbara Counties
Race UDW Candidate
State Assembly, 32nd District Rudy Salas
State Assembly, 35th District Dawn Addis
State Assembly, 36th District Tom Lackey
State Assembly, 37th District Steve Bennett
State Senate, 17th District John Laird
State Senate, 19th District Monique Limon
Bakersfield City Council Ward 1 Eric Arias
Santa Maria City Council District 1 Osvaldo Sotelo
UDW – District 6 – Butte, El Dorado, Nevada, Placer, Plumas, Sierra, and Sutter Counties
Race UDW Candidate
State Assembly, 1st District Elizabeth Betancourt
State Senate, 1st District Pamela Swartz
State Assembly, 6th District Jackie Smith
Oroville City Council Janet Goodson
Chico City Council Rich Ober
Chico City Council Ann Schwab
Colfax City Council Marnie Mendoza
Roseville City Council LaMills Garret
UDW – District 7 – Imperial County
Race UDW Candidate
State Assembly, 56th District Eduardo Garcia
Imperial Irrigation, 4th District Erik Ortega

Learn more about each proposition, here.

Prop 14 – YES

Prop 15 – YES

Prop 16 – YES

Prop 17 – YES

Prop 18 – YES

Prop 19 – YES

Prop 20 – NO

Prop 21 – YES

Prop 22 – NO

Paid for by United Domestic Workers of America Action Fund, sponsored by United Domestic Workers of America. Not authorized by a candidate or a committee controlled by a candidate.